Research Guides: Government Documents: HIST 296: Genocide and Modern Slavery: U.S. Government Resources

Search Tips

The databases and digital resources included in this LibGuide will yield primary and secondary source materials for your research.

The following keywords will help with your searches in the library catalog or databases.

genocide
war crimes
crimes against humanity
international crimes tribunal
international criminal law
ethnic cleansing
mass violence
human rights violations
sex trafficking
human trafficking
child labor
modern slavery
sexual slavery
slavery
forced labor
indentured labor
involuntary servitude

For phrases, try using quotation marks around the phrase to keep the words together in your search.

Also, combine them with geographic areas you are searching for, e.g. "ethnic cleansing" AND Yugoslavia. Other search tips are interspersed among the resources in the guide.

U.S. Government Agencies

Use the links below to find the most current initiatives, programs, and resources from U.S. government agencies.

Be aware that this information comes from official departments; thus, if you are looking for reports or articles about possible U.S. involvement or responsibility for war crimes or other investigative materials, you might try the IGOs, or OneSearch (our library finding tool) which search databases and collections written by non-governmental sources as well.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Office on Trafficking in Persons
Outlines federal government's efforts to combat human trafficking.
United States Institute of Peace Genocide Prevention Task Force
U.S. Department of Justice Office of Justice Programs
Links to publications and multimedia produced by government agencies regarding human trafficking.
FBI Human Trafficking
Includes current resources and news related to sex trafficking, labor trafficking, and domestic servitude,
U.S. Department of State Trafficking in Persons Report
Annual reports from the office to monitor and combat trafficking in persons.
Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) - Human Trafficking
Announcements, resources, research, training and services provided by the OVC.
USAID Countering Trafficking in Persons
Announcements, videos, blogs, and documents related to countering trafficking.
Bureau of Justice Assistance/ U.S. Dept. of Justice
You can use the search bar at the top right to look up information and resources on human trafficking, modern-day slavery, and other research topics.
U.S. Department of State Program to End Modern Slavery
U.S. Department of State Office of Global Criminal Justice
The Office of Global Criminal Justice advises the Secretary of State and the Under Secretary of State for Civilian Security, Democracy, and Human Rights on issues related to war crimes, crimes against humanity, and genocide..
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Human Rights Violators & War Crimes Center
The Human Rights Violators and War Crimes Center (HRVWCC) is the only government entity focused completely on investigating global atrocities and the perpetrators of human rights violations and war crimes.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Diplomatic correspondence and other papers, usually arranged by subject or geographic area and time period. Also available in HeinOnline (UHM login required).

Library of Congress

Library of Congress Research Guides
LC has developed dozens of topical guides linking to primary source materials in LC's collections and elsewhere.
Library of Congress Global Legal Monitor

The Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide.

It is updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the Global Legal Monitor.
You can do a search for "war crimes," genocide, or other related research keywords, and refine your results by

date
topic
jurisdiction (geographic area).

Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals
This 15-volume series summarizes the course of the more important proceedings taken against individuals accused of war crimes during World War II, excluding the major war criminals tried by the Nuremberg and Tokyo International Military Tribunals.
Library of Congress Military Legal Resources
Extensive collections of primary source materials and publications in the field of military law.
LOC International Tribunals Web Archive
The International Tribunals Web Archive contains selected websites on the most important international courts and tribunals created since World War II.
Collection period: June 2014 to present (this is an ongoing archive).
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is hosted by the Library of Congress. Search for bills, laws, roll call votes, and other legislative information from the 93rd Congress (1973)-present. You can search by member name, keyword, or bill number.

Other Government-related Resources

USA.gov
Web portal and search engine for U.S. government and state and local government information, maintained by the U.S. General Services Administration.
Clinton Digital Library
The digital Collection of the Presidential Library of Bill Clinton

Searches for Bosnia, Genocide, Yugoslavia, etc include:
Primary Source Declassified Documents
Primary Source Transcripts
Primary Source Audio Recording
United States Holocaust Museum Darfur Bibliography
Background Information on Darfur By the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Homeland Security Digital Library

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
Advanced Search function available from the homepage:

Click on Advanced Search above the search bar
select "Full text contains" from the pull-down menu
Enter a search term like Guantanamo in the "All of the words" field
filter for date or more search terms in "any of the words" or "exact phrase" boxes.

PubMed Medline
Provides free access to citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. If the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) Library has a subscription to the full-text site, logged in users will be able to view the full-text. To view the citations with UHM links, select "Abstract" from the "Format" drop-down menu.

Government Documents Librarian

Gwen Sinclair

Email Me

Contact:

2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822

808-956-2549

Subjects: Government Documents

Government Documents: HIST 296: Genocide and Modern Slavery: U.S. Government Resources

Introduction

Search Tips

U.S. Government Agencies

Library of Congress

Other Government-related Resources

Government Documents Librarian